Doubles Digital Concert | Orchestra of The Swan

Doubles Concert

Watch the trailer for Doubles, Orchestra of the Swan’s digital concert, available to stream from 12/02/2021 featuring Craig Ogden (guitar) and Miloš Milivojević (accordion).


J.S. Bach – Concerto for Violin and Oboe
Astor Piazzolla – Cafe 1930
Steve Reich – Duet
Errolyn Wallen – Chorale
Astor Piazzolla – Concerto for Guitar and Bandoneon

Craig Ogden – Guitar
Miloš Milivojević – Classical Accordion
Victoria Brawn – Oboe
Violin/Director – David Le Page

Duets are explored in this concert through the double concertos of J.S. Bach and Astor Piazzolla featuring acclaimed guitarist Craig Ogden and classical accordionist Miloš Milivojević. Steve Reich’s Duet for two solo violins and strings – written for Yehudi Menuhin – is a miraculous recreation of delayed acoustic space. Baroque perfection and interlacing, contrapuntal conversation abound in Bach’s Concerto for oboe and violin. Piazzolla’s Concerto for Guitar and Bandoneon is stripped back and brooding tango that gradually moves towards a joyful conclusion. Belize-born Errolyn Wallen’s sacred-feeling Chorale hints at the complexity of Michael Tippett and the lushness of Vaughan Williams.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.